Week 4- Activity- Performance Art

Screen Shot 2015-02-15 at 3.43.02 PM Screen Shot 2015-02-15 at 3.43.32 PM

This week’s activity made me very uncomfortable. I don’t know why- maybe it was because although I am an extrovert, I don’t like going outside of what I normally do. I think there is something about me that is very concerned about what I do in front of other people, not necessarily because they will judge me or make an image of me, but because I want to have the best image of myself- and maybe goofing around a little bit could actually help my image.

When I was thinking about what to do for this activity I had a couple ideas going round and round in my head- I am an overachieving perfectionist so the odds of me actually being happy with the outcome of this uncomfortable project were zero to none. I asked my friends for help and they told me to get up on a closet and cheese for the camera, as I’m doing in the above left photo. It’s something I would never do, so I thought that it could work. In the above right photo I decided to swoop on an unused wheelchair while at the doctor’s office while drinking a coffee- another thing I would never usually do. I like how these pictures came out and I’m glad that I tried doing them- I never thought that doing something random and catching it on camera could be so much fun!

A big thing that stands out about performance art (for me) is that it is trying to make a statement most of the time. It is out of the ordinary and its so odd that it leaves an impression on your mind and you look for similar things in the rest of the world.

Leave a Reply

